Infinity Stones In Marvel Movies: What They Are & Where They Are

Thor Thanos Infinity Gauntlet 570x308 Infinity Stones In Marvel Movies: What They Are & Where They Are

Thanos sporting the Infinity Gauntlet

When Thanos has the gauntlet and all six gems equipped, he eradicates
half of the living things in the universe before the remaining heroes
join forces. In the end of that famous crossover event in Marvel Comics,
it’s actually Thanos’ adopted daughter Nebula (played by Karen Gillan
in Guardians of the Galaxy) who takes the Infinity Gauntlet to repair all the damage done by Thanos.

With Marvel’s Doctor Strange movie on the way sometime in
Phase 3 (we’re guessing July 2016) it’s possible that story can
introduce the Soul Gem and the remaining Time Travel stone
could be saved for a story involving time-travel, perhaps even James
Gunn’s recently confirmed Guardians of the Galaxy sequel, since time travel plays a big part in the 2008-10 run of Guardians of the Galaxy comics by Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning – for which the films draw their inspiration from.

As for where the Infinity Stones (the ones we know about, anyway) are at this point in time by the end of Guardians:

  • Space Stone – In Odin’s Vault on Asgard
  • Mind Stone – Held by Baron von Strucker at a HYDRA base on Earth
  • Reality Stone – In The Collector’s Collection on Knowhere
  • Power Stone – In Nova Corps’ vault on Xandar

Expect these Stones to shift hands a few more times, and for Thanos
to continue his quest to collect them all. It could be a long, long time
away before we see the Infinity Gauntlet formed – but clearly the films
are building towards that scenario. Share your thoughts on the Infinity
Stones, Gauntlet, Thanos and how they’ve been introduced in the 10
Marvel Studios movie so far.

[Updated: Clarified reality gem theory and added some pages from Marvel Comics]


More: ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ Easter Eggs


Guardians of the Galaxy is directed by James Gunn and
stars Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Dave Bautista, Vin Diesel as Groot,
Bradley Cooper as Rocket, Lee Pace, Michael Rooker, Karen Gillan, Djimon
Hounsou, with John C. Reilly, Glenn Close as Nova Prime Rael and
Benicio Del Toro as The Collector.

The Avengers: Age of Ultron releases May 1, 2015, Ant-Man on July 17, 2015, Captain America 3 on May 6 2016, and unannounced films for July 8 2016 and May 5 2017, Guardians of the Galaxy 2 on July 28 2017, November 3 2017, May 4 2018, July 6 2018, November 2 2018 and May 3 2019.

via Blogger


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s